top of page

RESULTS 2020/2021

8th Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Saturday Series Held on the 28th November 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Ron RANFORD (SK), Neil McNeil, Tony WALSH

  • Ross DRUMMOND (SK), Brent AUSTEN, Simon ROWE

  • Steve GOSLING (SK), David WILKS, Denis TOON

  • Peter TWISS (SK), Anton MORA, Jason DRAPER


Overall Winning Team:  Steve GOSLING (SK), David WILKS, Denis TOON with 14 points plus 8.

7th Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Saturday Series Held on the 21st November 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Colin CHRISTIE (SK), Brian MORRIS, Brent AUSTEN


  • Steve GOSLING (SK), Peter TWISS, Simon ROWE

  • John KURTA (SK), Steve RUBICK, Jason HAZARD


Overall Winning Team:  Bill JOHNSTON (SK), Ray HURLEY, Jim ROBERTS with 18 points plus 21.

South Taranaki Club-Sponsored Men's Centre Four's

 Held on the 7th November 2020

Congratulations to the Fitzroy side for winning

  • Colin CHRISTIE (SK), Evan JONES (LEAD), Ron GADSBY (3) and Allan WHITE(2).

6th Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Saturday Series Held on the 1st November 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Peter BERGE (SK), Derek MOLES, Simon ROWE

  • Steve GOSLING (SK), Ross DRUMMOND, Neville NODDER

  • Denis TOON (SK), Anton MORA, Jason DRAPER

  • Brian MORRIS (SK), Danny PARKER, David WILKS


Overall Winning Team:  Denis TOON (SK), Anton MORA, Jason DRAPER  with 16 points plus 19.

5th Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Saturday Series Held on the 24th October 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Ron GADSBY (SK), Danny PARKER, Neville NODDER

  • Steve GOSLING (SK), Wayne MANNING, David WILKS

  • Jason HAZARD (SK), Neil MCNEIL, Jeff BLYDE

  • Merv WHITTLE (SK), Anton MORA, Kevin SEAVER

  • Denis TOON (SK), Derek MOLES, Simon ROWE


Overall Winning Team:  Merv WHITTLE (SK), Anton MORA, Kevin SEAVER  with 16 points plus 9.


Women's Championship Fours

 Held on the 18th of October 2020

Winning Team:  Maree GADSBY (SK), Faye GESCE, Gaye HOLUB, Lesley TEAWA


Runners Up:  Joan RICHARDS (SK), Marlene HAYES, Patricia HANSEN, Carolyn WILKS



4th Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Saturday Series Held on the 10th October 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Jason HAZARD (SK), Trevor HILL, Bill SHAW 

  • Steve GOSLING (SK)Derek MOLES, Neville NODDER 

  • Bill JOHNSON (SK), Brian MORRIS, Kevin SEAVER

  • David BRUNTON (SK), Danny PARKER, Simon ROWE drew with 


Overall Winning Team:  Steve GOSLING (SK)Derek MOLES, Neville NODDER  with 16 points plus 16.

3rd Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Saturday Series Held on the 3rd October 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Des BROPHY (SK), Anton MORA (PAIRS)


  • Colin CHRISTIE (SK), Derek MOLES, Jason DRAPER 


  • Peter BERGE (SK), Ray HURLEY, Brent AUSTEN

  • Denis TOON (SK), Neil McNEIL, Tony BIRD

Overall Winning Team:  Colin CHRISTIE (SK), Derek MOLES, Jason DRAPER with 16 points plus 20.

2nd Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Saturday Series Held on the 26th September 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Des BROPHY (SK), Wayne MANNING, Simon ROWE 


  • Jason HAZARD (SK), Graeme BLACKFORD, David WILKS 


  • Peter BERGE (SK), Trevor HILL, Anton MORA

Overall Winning Team:  Jason HAZARD (SK) with 15 points plus 23

1st Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

 Series Held on the 13th September 2020

Winning Teams:

  • Ron GADSBY (SK), Anton MORA (Pairs)

  • Steve GOSLING (SK), Jeff BLYDE, Les HODDER

  • John KURTA (SK), Kevin NEALE, Jim ROBERTS 

  • Denis TOON (SK), Brian MORRIS, Bill SHAW


Overall Winning Team:  Ron GADSBY (SK) with 17 points plus 19

The second semi-final of the Men's Triples Championship

Held 18th March 2020 

In a tight and dramatic game with the scores locked up at 15 all, Grant PEASE (SK) Tony McALEVEY and Paul SPIERS prevailed scoring a two on the extra end to defeat John KURTA (SK), Ron GADSBY and Evan JONES 17 - 15.

The final of the triples will be played at 9.30 am on Saturday (21st March) between Grant PEASE and Des BROPHY.

Meanwhile, the  final of the Men’s Fours Championship will be played in the afternoon at 1.30 pm between David BRUNTON and John KURTA

Club Men's Championship Pairs Played in Ideal Conditions

Held Sunday 8th March 2020 

Round 1:  

Ron GADSBY / Evan JONES 17 v Colin CHRISTIE / Neil McNEIL 16, 

Don WEST / Hamish SIMPSON  20 v Chris BARRETT / Tony  McALEVEY 9


Round 2:

Jason HAZARD / Ross SPRANGER 15 v Murray PERRETT / Ross DRUMMOND 13, 

Merv WHITTLE / Jim ROBERTS 21 v Ian ADAMS / Darcy WEIR 15

Grant PEASE / Simon ROWE 20 v Bill JOHNSTON / Trevor SIMPSON 13, 

Ron GADSBY 17 v Don WEST 10

Round 3:  

Grant PEASE 17 v Merv WHITTLE 16,

Ron GADSBY 20 v Jason HAZARD 13

Date of final  Grant PEASE vs Ron GADSBY to be advised 


Bayleys Real Estate Hugh Moss junior pairs bowls title at Stratford-Avon

on Monday 9th March.

The final of the event turned into a real nail-biter, with the ultimate honours going to Evan JONES (Fitzroy) and Steve SABINE (Inglewood).  They scored the necessary shot on the extra end to pip Mark HAWKEN (Tower) and Luca DOBSON (Hawera Park) 15-14 in the decider, which was played in light rain.  However, the score could have very easily been the other way around.  On the extra end, JONES, with two bowls to play, found himself four down on a long head.

Playing overdraw weight and a little narrow, he pushed into a short bowl of SABINE and rolled it approximately three metres in for shot. DOBSON had an attempted run shot to dislodge the counter but missed.  It was a frustrating end for HAWKEN and DOBSON.  They led 9-3 after seven of the 16 ends in the final before JONES and SABINE found their touch and began to draw close. JONES and SABINE, in fact, hit the lead 14-11 with two ends to play.  However, a brace and a single to HAWKEN and DOBSON tied the game up and forced it into overtime.

In the semifinals that were completed on Sunday, HAWKEN and DOBSON were 21-12 victors over Paritutu’s Tom and Amanda CREHAN, while JONES and SABINE defeated the 2019 champions, Brian PEARCE and Ian PARKER (Stratford-Avon), 17-9.

Finals Day of the Open Men's Singles & 1st/2nd Years Men's Final

Held Sunday 16 February 2020 

Again we saw the evergreen John KURTA take out the Open Singles 21 - 17 over Moe KELLY after a very contested game. Alan WHITE earlier won 21 - 17 over Denis TOON, The semi-finals saw John KURTA win 22 - 9 over Grant PEASE. and Moe KELLY winning 21- 19 over Alan WHITE.


The final of the 1st / 2nd year Men's final was a very good win for first-year bowler Simon ROWE over Mike GILBERT 21 - 11.

11th and final Round of the Pelorus Triples Series

Saturday Series Held on the 1st February 2020

Winning Teams:

  • David BRUNTON (SK), Jeff BLYDE, Bill SHAW

  • Alan WHITE (SK), Evan JONES, Kevin SEAVER

  • Nigel NEWTON (SK) Trevor SIMPSON, Simon ROWE

  • Neville GOLDSWORTHY (SK), Peter KAVANAGH, Brent AUSTEN    drew with


Overall Winning Team:  Nigel NEWTON (SK) with 12 points plus 1

Series Point Winners:



1ST: Noel PROBYN (127pts)

2ND:  Denis TOON (96pts)

3RD:  Neville GOLDSWORTHY (90pts)


1ST:  Derek MOLES (113pts + 44)

2ND:  Brian MORRIS (113pts + 39)

3RD:  Nigel NEWTON (90pts)


1ST:  Les HODDER (109pts)

2ND:   Brent AUSTEN (105pts)

3RD:  Simon ROWE (95pts)

10th Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

Saturday Series Held on the 18th January 2020

Winning Teams:

  • David BRUNTON (SK), David FOULKES, Brent AUSTEN

  • Grant PEASE (SK), Brian MORRIS, Les HODDER

  • Neil MCNEIL (SK), Simon ROWE (Pairs)

  • Neville GOLDSWORTHY (SK), Nigel NEWTON, Neville NODDER

  • Noel PROBYN (SK), Tony WALSH, Anton MORA

Overall Winning Team:  Neil MCNEIL (SK) with 13 points plus 11

9th Round of the Pelorus Trust Men's

Saturday Series Held on 4th January 2020

Winning Teams:


  • Ron GADSBY (SK), Brian MORRIS, Bill SHAW  

  • Alan WHITE (SK), Tony WALSH, Ross DRUMMOND

  • Hamish SIMPSON (SK), Nigel NEWTON, Les HODDER

Overall Winning Team:  Ron GADSBY with 14 points plus 10

bottom of page